Presidents Cup 2019

on Saturday, 25 May 2019.

Results and Report

Ian Brotherston wins inaugural Presidents Cup at Blairgowrie with a total of 144 (1 over par). 

Vice Presidents Cup for Super Seniors won by Keith Bruce (Edzell) with a gross total of 146.

Handicap winner was Jim Emslie (Royal Aberdeen) with a net total of 140, the same score as Neish Chisholm (Kemnay), however Jim takes Bronze Medal due to better last round.

Open article for full report

Full scores, Click on link below.


Scratch (Gold) & Presidents Cup Winner: Ian Brotherston (Dumfries & County)

Vice Prersidents Cup (Super Seniors): Keith Bruce (Edzell)
Handicap (Bronze)  Jim Emslie (Royal Aberdeen).

President’s Cup at Blairgowrie

A field of 127 players met at Blairgowrie to contest the inaugural President’s Cup.  This is a new addition to the fixture list, thanks to the generosity of Society President, Gordon MacDonald, who has donated a trophy to be played for annually. At the same time the Super Seniors (Players aged 65 and over) were playing for the Vice President’s Cup, donated by our Honorary Members, Jim & Peter Kinloch.

The first round was played over the Rosemount course.  There was a slight breeze and some tricky pin placings made scoring difficult, but as always, some players rose to the challenge.  Ian Brotherston (Dumfries & County) and Derek Paton (Dunnikier Park) shared the lead after the first round with excellent scores of 69 (3 under par).  Ian had a very steady round with 15 pars and 3 birdies.  Derek’s round was rather different – he bogeyed the 2nd and 6th but birdied the 7th and 8th to reach the turn in level par.  Although he bogeyed the 13th and 16th on the back nine, the damage was more than repaired with a birdie at the 12th and eagles at two par 5’s – the 11th and 14th.

The second round was played over the Lansdowne course in sunny but breezy conditions.  Ian Brotherston came out on top, adding a 75 to his opening 69 for a total of 144, thereby becoming the first winner of the Presidents Cup.  Joint overnight leader, Derek Paton scored 76 for a total of 145 and finished joint second along with Richard Moffat (Turnhouse) (74,71) and David Logie (Craigie Hill) (72, 73).

The Vice President’s Cup for Super Seniors was won by Keith Bruce (Edzell), who’s gross total of 146 gave him a winning margin of 8 shots from John Fraser (Royal Burgess), with Billy Erskine (Kilsyth Lennox) in 3rd place, a further shot back.

The bronze medal for leading handicap score was won by Jim Emslie (Royal Aberdeen) (4) with rounds of 72 and 68 for a total of 140.  Neish Chisholm (Kemnay) (14) also had a total of 140 (68, 72), but Jim wins the bronze medal by virtue of a better second round.

Rosemount course – Par 72; SSS 72; CSS 73

Lansdowne course – Par 71; SSS 71; CSS 73.

Leave a comment

Please login to leave a comment.

Scottish Seniors Golfing Society


Next Events

Click Here to view our Next Events


Competition Results

Click Here to view our Competition Results


Latest News

Click Here for our Latest News